About me · Pen and Paper · The Friday Flex

‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #10

‘The Friday Flex’ is a weekly newsletter consisting of personal stationery and lifestyle news pieces. It primarily focuses my experiences with pen and paper krafts.

Table of Contents

  1. Instagram Highlights
  2. A Traveling Stationery Lover: Hotel Edition
  3. My Love/Hate Relationship with Photography

I. Instagram Highlights

Blogging daily since January 1st, 2016. #lifegoals #bucketlist #blog #stationerylover #mypreciouskrafts

A post shared by Joanna Mei (@joannamei11) on

II. A Traveling Stationery Lover: Hotel Edition

Last weekend, I went to Sacramento for the ACLU Conference and Lobby Day and with all I’m trying to do with my hobbies, I found myself packing a LOT of my supplies. I am usually a smart packer, but I packed seven notebooks and that is way too much. Admittedly, I did have one extra blank notebook because I thought I my need to transition to my second blogging notebook. Still, I need to find a way to condense my supply. Here’s a comparison between what I brought and what I used:

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-14 007
What I brought
My Precious Krafts 2016-04-14 008
What I used

Since it was a short trip and I had a pretty empty suitcase, I had the space to bring extra. Next time, I will definitely make sure to pack less. First, I will omit the 5-year journal and settle for really detailed planner entries or some brief entry in my Field Notes which I could later transfer. Next, instead of bringing my hobby and blog planner, I will copy all relevant todo’s into my Field Notes and either practice my calligraphy in my Field Notes or my Passion Planner.  Last, I will simply finish or delay blog posts ahead of my trip.

In terms of pens, I am okay with bringing my pen case for suitcase trips, but, if I wanted to go light, I would only bring my Uni Style Fit, my Uni Jetstream F*Series, and an eraser.

To sum it all up, I will restrict my travel carry to just my Passion Planner, my Field Notes, my Adventure Log, and either my pen case or just the two multipens. If I was hiking/backpacking. I would also leave behind my Passion Planer to continue lightening the load.

III. My Love/Hate Relationship with Photography

I love photography as much as anyone else. Quality pictures help you see life in a different light and helps the photographer convey a message to you. So what’s wrong with photography?

Well, hate is a self-driven emotion, which is to say that it comes from personal incompetency and pure laziness. I am mediocre at photography because not only does it not come naturally to me, I have not taken the time to learn it. Something about the terms used in photography feel extra confusing to me and I am so tempted to just use the auto mode.

I have been usuign the Canon SX210IS and the cold hard truth is that I have a dSLR at my disposal. It is hard for me to admit that I could have better photographs on my blog if I just took the time. However, admitting your faults is the first step to improvement. I am determined to take high quality photos, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

