Correspondence · Pen and Paper · The Friday Flex

‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #9: To the Post Office!

‘The Friday Flex’ is a weekly newsletter consisting of personal stationery and lifestyle news pieces. It primarily focuses my experiences with pen and paper krafts.

Table of Contents

  1. Instagram Highlights
  2. Incoming: Letter ‘J’ Seal & Bernzomatic Flex Stem Lighter
  3. Correspondence Tracker + DIY Address Book
  4. Write_On’s Letter Writing Event @ Coffee Bar, SF
  5. Post #100 Giveaway!

I. Instagram Highlights

II. Incoming: Letter ‘J’ Seal & Bernzomatic Flex Stem Lighter

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-06 009

Besides Game of Thrones, the theme of this week is correspondence. My beautiful, amazing friend gifted me a Letter ‘J’ Seal from an adorable shop in Berkeley, Castle in the Air. The seal is so pretty and classy (Thank you Fiona!) and I can’t wait to use it on my next letters

The second new thing in my stock is the Bernzomatic Flex Stem Lighter. This lighter was recommended by Brian Goulet for wax seals and I must say I am really impressed by how fast it melts wax. It only cost me about $4 at Home Depot and it is such a multi-purpose tool. I’ve only tested it out once, but the fact that my first ever seal looks perfect is a promising start.

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-06 024

III. Correspondence Tracker + DIY Address Book

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-06 014

As a true notebook addict, I simply had to assign a notebook to the job of tracking my  correspondence. After much deliberation, I decided to use the A5 Tsubame Fools University Notebook that my friend Fiona gifted me. I chose it over the others because I wanted a high quality line ruled notebook without any embellishments. This Tsubame also has 200 pages, so I don’t need to worry about sectioning off the back 26 pages for an address book section. I will review the Tsubame after more use, but I can already tell you that it handles fine-nibbed fountain pens and felt tip pens without any bleedthrough or feathering.

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-06 015My Precious Krafts 2016-04-06 018

My correspondence tracker will be organized into 2 sections: Incoming/Outgoing Correspondence Notes in the front and an address book in the back. To make the address section with tabs, I used a paper trimmer, a ruler, and some Daiso tab stickers. I cut off 3/8″ from the back 13 sheets and placed 13 tabs. The address book starts with A from the back, Asian-style. To make sure I don’t run out of space, I also added a line the middle. Although it took a bit of work, I like that I now have tabs that don’t stick out of the notebook and since its in the back, the front is kept clear for the correspondence notes. I can’t wait to fill this up!

 

IV. Write_On’s “Letter Writing Event” @ Coffee Bar, SF

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-07 002

Yesterday (Thursday April 7), I had the pleasure of attending the Letter Writing Event hosted by Write_On and The Dinner Party, a community of 20 to 30-year olds who’s suffered a significant loss. The event was at the Coffee Bar in San Francisco and it was simply spectacular. There were cool Write_On kits, food, free stationery and stamps, and a room full of beautiful, life-minded spirits. Since the SF Pen Show last August, I haven’t been to another stationery-focused event and I must say the Letter Writing Event exceeded my expectations. I really appreciated the feeling of community. They really outdid themselves. I will definitely be attending their April 28 event at Chronicle Books.

V.Reminder: Post #100 Giveaway!

Post 100 Giveaway.jpg

Don’t forget to check out my Post#100 Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

