Pen and Paper

Uni Style Fit 5-Color Multipen Review

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-04 001Introduction

I mentioned this pen previously in ‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #5 and, after using it for about a month, I decided it was time to review it. I bought this pen for the sole purpose of using it with my Passion Planner. After trying to using a single color in my planner, I decided I was a color-coder to the core and a customizable multi-pen would be much preferred. After shopping around a bit, I decided on the Uni Style Fit because I really liked their Disney Collection. I mean, look at that precious Donald Duck design! I bought the pen body from Amazon and the refills from JetPens. Uni makes 0.28, 0.38, and 0.5mm gel ink refills in 17 colors. They also make 0.5, 0.7, and 1.0mm ballpoint refills in black, red, and blue. I got the 0.38 gel ink refills in blue, green, red, baby pink, and violet.

My Precious Krafts 2016-03-09 003

Design

The design of this pens is very comparable to most Japanese pens in the market. The pen body is made of a smooth, light plastic and has a simple, cute design. On the top third of the pen, there are 5 white buttons to deploy the 5 different refills. Four of those buttons are smaller and one is larger, which also serves as a clip of sorts. The middle third of the pen has the majority of the simplistic Donald Duck design which I love. The bottom third of the pen is a clear plastic that’s tapered down to a point.

Since this is a customizable pen, the buttoms don’t have distinct colors that set them apart. The most obvious ways to know which color you’re deploying is to look through the clear plastic and see the refill colors or to memorize the order. I just memorized it and I didn’t have a problem.

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-04 007

The construction of the pen body is solid, though I still wouldn’t put too much pressure on it because it is so lightweight. The clicking mechanism works very smoothly and it was very easy to put in the refill. The construction of the refills also felt very good. My only complaint is that it was a little too easy to switch between colors. Occasionally, the color would retract accidentally and, though it wasn’t often enough to be annoying, it was noticeable.

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-04 005

Writing

The benefit of a customizable multi-pen is that you can choose your preferred colors, tip sizes and even add a pencil to the mix. With the Uni Style Fit, it’s even better because all of their refill components are really high quality. Their gel refills all have their signature Uni-ball Signo gel ink. So, the 0.38mm refills I chose write really smoothly and didn’t skip at all. They weren’t too wet or too dry and the colors were bright and defined. As expected with good gel ink, there was no seethrough, bleedthrough or feathering. Plus, the ink is water-resistant. Imagine having all of that multiplied by 5. Just amazing.

Conclusion

I am so happy with my decision to buy the Uni Style Fit. I love fountains pens, but the utility and convenience of having 5 pens in a single, cute package is just too hard to pass up. The color-coder in me really needed this and the quality of the refills and the pen body has convinced to make multipens a permanent part of my rotation. I would still like to try the Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto, but, for now, the Uni Style Fit satisfies my needs perfectly. If you want to try this pen, you can find all the parts on Jet Pens and Tokyo Pen Shop. If you want to check out more reviews, I recommend The Well-Appointed Desk and Office Supply Geek.

My Precious Krafts 2016-04-04 008

One thought on “Uni Style Fit 5-Color Multipen Review

Leave a Reply

