Scrapbooking

Scrapbooking Tools: Adhesives

My Precious Krafts 2016-03-24 007

Unless you are truly a no-frills Project Life-only scrapbooker, most likely, you’ll need some adhesives for your scrapbooking needs. When I first started scrapbooking, I referred to Paper Wishes’ ‘All About Adhesives’ guide. It was a very informative post that covers most of the typical scrapbooking adhesives. I highly recommend you check out that guide if you’re a beginner looking for professional advice. This post is mainly an overview of my approach to using adhesives.

  • First, when I’m shopping for adhesives, I look out for the following terms: photo-safe, acid-free, and archival. That way, you can be sure your papers and photos won’t disintegrate over time.
  • Second, I make sure to have both removeable and permanent adhesives. Sometimes, you want things to stay in place forever. Other times, you want to have the option of taking thing out or perhaps you’re folding a paper in half and you want something that will keep it closed with the option of opening it.
  • Lastly, the adhesives must be economical.

Here are the four adhesives I use and their use categories and advantages (all are acid-free and photo-safe):

My Precious Krafts 2016-03-24 013

  • Glue sticks
    • Most economical
    • Permanent
    • Regular Papers
  • Tombow Mono Dots Adhesvies (Permanent)
    1. Permanent
    2. Light to Heavy Papers
  • Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue
    1. Permanent or removeable
    2. Heavy Papers
    3. Non-paper materials (plastics, wood, etc)

My Precious Krafts 2016-03-24 008

  • Washi Tape
    1. Removeable
    2. Reuseable
    3. Any paper or non-paper material

These four adhesives cover all of my permanent, removeable paper and non-paper scrapbooking needs. If you’re just starting out, I recommend these four adhesives to cover your range of scrapbooking needs.

3 thoughts on “Scrapbooking Tools: Adhesives

Leave a Reply

