Pen and Paper · The Friday Flex

‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #4

‘The Friday Flex’ is a weekly newsletter consisting of stationery and lifestyle news pieces. It primarily focuses my personal experiences with pen and paper krafts.

Table of Contents

  1. Instagram Highlights
  2. STAMPS!
  3. Calligraphy Supplies & Jet Pens Order
  4. Writing Overload

I. Instagram Highlights

II. STAMPS!

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-25 015My Precious Krafts 2016-02-25 016My Precious Krafts 2016-02-25 014

This past month was InCoWriMo, International Correspondence Writing Month, and, alas, I did not participate because I was so focused on life and writing for this blog. However, I do want to write more letters and I will start with my cousin in the Netherlands. So, I bought a ton of stamps. Was it truly justified? No. Not even close. However, I did it anyways. I absolutely love all the stamps I bought. Since I was born on the Year of the Monkey, I bought the Lunar New Year stamp set! The Penguins Additional Ounce stamps and the Coastal Birds postcard stamps were for flexibility in weight and size. The other… just for me. Just me being crazy.

III. Calligraphy Supplies & Jet Pens Order

My Precious Krafts 2016-03-01 002

Because I wanted more variety in my calligraphy supplies, I caved and made another order with Jet Pens. These are the supplies I bought:

  • Tachikawa Model 25 Nib Holder
  • Speedball Pigmented Acryllic Calligraphy Ink in White (0.4oz)
  • Brause 29 Index Finger Nib
  • Brause 66 Extra Fine Arrow Nib
  • Brause 361 Steno Blue Pumpkin Nib
  • Nikko G Model Nib (3pk)

I am so excited to try them out! If you want to see my progress, follow me on Instagram where I will definitely post updates.

IV. Writing Overload

MPK 01092016

Since I started this blog, I find myself writing much less in my journal. On the whole, I write a lot more. I draft my blog posts. I write in my planner, I take notes in my Field Notes, and I practice my calligraphy. I still use my Levenger 5-Year Journal and my wellness journal. Perhaps I don’t need to journal specifically because my life is being recorded somewhere. However, the fact that I feel sad I’m not writing in my journal makes all the other writing feel overwhelming. Maybe my nostalgia is holding me back. Journaling helped bring me into the fountain pen and writing hobby, so I always feel like I need to continue it.

I try my best to be attuned to what I want to do and not force myself to do something. My blog post schedule is constantly adjusting as a result. Maybe I need to accept that I don’t need to journal as much as I did before. Still, I do feel like I need to streamline my writing tools and my process. We shall see how things change. Hopefully, journaling will make it back into my rotation.

Leave a Reply

