Pen and Paper · Watercolor · Wishlist

Wishlist: Sketchbooks

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-29 009Since I started exploring my hobbies a little more, I decided I want to create more art. I mainly focus on calligraphy, lettering, and watercolors. Right now, I use the Companion refill from Innovative Journaling with their standard 120gsm/85lb Arches paper for watercolor practice. I use Nanami Paper’s Seven Seas ‘Crossfield’ for calligraphy and larger watercolor paintings. Both are perfectly fine for my sketchbook needs, but since I am a shopaholic, I love looking at other (actual) sketchbooks.

My criteria:

  1. Watercolor friendly (90lbs+ or otherwise so)
  2. Smooth enough for fountain/dip pens (mixed media, no coldpress)
  3. Approximately A5 size (8-8.5″ x 5.5-6″)
  4. Lays flat (hardcover > wirebound > softcover)
  5. More pages (so it doesn’t feel too precious)
My Precious Krafts 2016-02-29 001
I really made this for my own needs… I need to stop buying things…

Global Art Materials Handbook Journal Co Artist Journal ($16.54 @ Amazon)

Global Art Materials Handbook Journal Co Large Portrait

Strathmore Hardbound 500 Series Mixed Media Journal ($12.67 @ Dick Blick)

Strathmore 500 Series Mixed Media Art Journal

Strathmore Visual Journal Mixed Media ($9.93 @ Dick Blick)

Strathmore Visual Journal Mixed Media

Stillman & Birn Epsilon Series Hardbound ($15.99 @ Dick Blick)

Stillman & Birn Epsilon Series Sketchbook, Hardbound

Stillman & Birn Alpha Series Hardbound ($15.99 @ Dick Blick)

Stillman & Birn Alpha Series Sketchbook, Hardbound

Clearprint Artist Vellum Book ($11.85 @ Dick Blick)

Clearprint Artist Vellum Books

Hobonichi Techo ‘Cousin’ ($33+ @ 1101.com)

Hobonichi Techo CousinHobonichi Techo Cousin 2

 

Leave a Reply

