Pen and Paper · The Friday Flex

‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #1

‘The Friday Flex’ is a weekly newsletter consisting of stationery and lifestyle news pieces. Its primary focus will be news that is relevant to my personal experiences.

Table of Contents

  1. Instagram Highlights
  2. Field Notes DDC Deadprints & Field Notes Trading
  3. Jetpens Order & Beginner Calligraphy Supplies
  4. Passion Planner 2016
  5. Travel: Angel Island

I. Instagram Highlights

II. Field Notes DDC Deadprints & Field Notes Trading

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-05 001.JPG

About two weeks ago, Aaron Draplin himself announced the online release of the Field Notes Draplin Design Co Deadprint edition. This was a 2000-pack, limited edition run made with the stockpile of poster deadprints and returns they accumulated over the years. I never followed DDC’s works before this, but needless to say, they looked really good. Originally, they were only available through the DDC Pop-up shop in Portland, OR (MY DREAM CITY) during December. After the shop closed, they promised an online release of the rest. Because I got caught up in the hype. I got two packs for myself.

The cold hard truth is that I already decided I didn’t want to collect Field Notes too intensely. So, I wil be giving some of my Deadprints away. Of course, being a member of the Field Nuts Facebook group and knowing how intense people get about these books, I wanted to give people a chance to trade for the packs I wasn’t too attached to, just in case they were really hunting for it. In the end, I was able to trade two books, a Maryland and a California, and got four in return, another California, a Jade Green DDC Factory Floor edition, and two Unexposed in Purple and Yellow. Not bad for a first time trade. Especially since I got the Maryland in the hands of a born and raised Marylander.

I will be keeping three Deadprints for myself and giving away the rest of my bounty (except for the awesome Jade Green DDC Factory Floor edition!). This will be my first giveaway, so stay tuned!

III. Jetpens Order & Beginner Calligraphy Supplies

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-11 001

After several weeks of cart shuffling and stock monitoring, I finally placed my first order form Jetpens! I was going to wait for the Brause ‘Blue Pumpkin’ Steno nib to come back in stock, but I grew impatient.Also, the Speedball Oblique was threatening to go out of stock, so I just went for it.

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-11 004

The main goal of this order was to get some writing boards (a.k.a. Shitajiki), pencil sharpeners, and beginner calligraphy supplies. Here’s a list of my spoils:

  • 1 x Sun-Star Grid Shitajiki Writing Board – A4 = $3.00
  • 2 x Kyoei Orions Shitajiki Writing Board – A5 – 02 Dots = $2.70
  • 1 x Uni Color Pencil Sharpener = $1.65
  • 1 x Kutsuwa Stad T’Gaal Pencil Sharpener – Green = $6.25
  • 1 x Speedball Oblique Pen Nib Holder = $1.70
  • 1 x Tachikawa Comic Pen Nib – G Model – Pack of 3 = $4.00
  • 1 x Kuretake Comic Pen Nib – G Model – Pack of 3 = $4.00

Everything in the order was as expected, except for the Kuretake G nib. Originally, I bought two brands because I wanted to test them out and compare them. However, the Kuretake nibs I got looked exactly like the Tachikawa G nibs, down to the last detail. I already emailed the customer service team to try and clear this up. Meanwhile, it seems I have 6 Tachikawa nibs and, honestly, it doesn’t make a difference to me.

I am happy with everything that came in this order. I tested out the dip nib afor the #tarquinswords calligraphy practice. It is so foreign and strange, but I love what it can do, so I will practice hard to get it right. The pencil sharpeners work perfectly. And the writing boards work perfectly. No complaints. Later on, I will post reviews for some of the products, but in the meanwhile, I am excited to share my beginner calligraphy jottings with you guys.

IV. Passion Planner 2016

After much debate and deliberation, I decided to get the Passion Planner. After switching to the Shinola Runwell Planner, I realized two things: (1) I need the time chart to wrap my head around the day and (2) I can’t handle the changing week formats. Originally, my plan was to use Google Calendar to deal with my appointments and the Shinola would just be for forward planning and notes. After a month, I realized that I was too far down the analog road. After about 7-8 months of using the Moleskine Daily Planner, I became used to seeing my day laid out in a timed format. I did want to have a week view because I found the daily a little too detached, but since the Shinola had shifting week formats, I still felt rather disjointed.

When choosing my planner for 2016, I decided against the Passion Planner because I thought it would be too overwhelming with all of its boxes I need to fill out. However, I concluded that it has everything else I needed, so the “Passion planning” side of it would just be a bonus. I will update you with my review of the system later on.

V. Travel: Angel Island

This last bit of news is about my recently-discovered, go-to Bay Area hiking and camping destination: Angel Island. When I was in college, I went to Angel Island for the first time to visit the Immigration Station. Back in August, my friend suggested we go camping there and I went again. During that trip, we hiked to the peak of Mt. Livermore to find a 360 degree view of the Bay. Then, after exploring more of the island, we watched the sun set behind the Golden Gate bridge. Finally, after camping out at a site with the view of the beautiful, lit up Bay Bridge, we watching the sun rise next to the bridge. It was magical.

I am convinced that Angel Island is one of the must see locations within the Bay. The only downside is that hiking through the island does require a reasonable level of physical endurance. However, if you take it slow, even those that never exercise can make it through. If you are physically disabled, I still recommend you at least see the Immigration station when the trams are running because there is such a meaningful piece of history waiting there.

If you have any degree of physical capability, go. And camp at the Sunrise or Ridge campsites if you can get a reservation. This is absolutely a very visible, yet hidden gem in the Bay.

One thought on “‘The Friday Flex’ Issue #1

Leave a Reply

