Pen and Paper · Watercolor

Beginner Watercolor #3 – Happy Year of the Monkey!

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-04 020

For my third watercolor, I wanted to make a sigil and draw something slightly more complicated than my previous. Since it is the Year of the Monkey, I decided to include a Monkey in my drawing. So, I Googled ‘Year of the Monkey’ and, as expected, I found many simple monkey outlines. I chose this one because I thought it was adorable and hard to mess up.

I started by making a outline for my sigil. I wanted a simple, but elegant shape and I think I got it down. Then, I sketched the monkey with my handy dandy Field Notes pencil. Next, I traced over the monkey with the more permanent Sakura Pigma Micron 05 in Sepia, the perfect color for a monkey. I decided to write my last name under the monkey and I used the Pigma Micron in Green. Unfortunately, I realized too late that their green is strangely blue. I would almost call it a teal. This threw off my color scheme a little but I worked with it.

After I finished with the Monkey outline and my last name, I added some branches around the edges. I outlined those with the Sepia, also. Then, to match the teal letters, I traced over the outline of the sigil with the “Green” also. And my outline was complete.

Using my Sakura Koi Watercolors and water brush, I colored in the monkey with a light warm brown. To add some dimension, I waited for the initial wash to dry a little and then added a second layer of color around the edges, mainly around the leg area and the ears. I color in the sigil with red because I initially wanted this to have a Chinese New Year theme. It looked quite strange with the teal outline, but in a not-too-bad kind of way. I shaded in the edges the same way I shaded the monkey and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I wish I did it more evenly, but I like that it adds some dimension. I added some leaves to the branches with the watercolors and that concludes my sigil. I’m pretty happy with it.

I originially wanted to draw a sun aroung the sigil, but, because I messed up, I decided to make it sort of a hot air balloon. A golden hot air balloon. I added a light blue sky and thought I was done, but because I am a child, I plopped on some gold glitter glue and spread it with my fingers. And so, my watercolor is complete. And sparkling.

My Precious Krafts 2016-02-04 017

 

Leave a Reply

