Books

‘Jesse Heisenberg – Bream Gives Me Hiccups’ Reflections

9780802124043_custom-5e1a2919b1c9be36311c488fe1c901b58f7d64c2-s400-c85When I was at the library, I picked up this book because it seemed interesting enough and I have always found Jesse to be rather witty and funny, especially because he’s endearingly awkward and schizophrenic.

I think the best part of this book was the first part, “Bream Gives Me Hiccups,” also its namesake. It is hilarious, honest, and tragic. And yet, it has so much heart. To me, Jesse never crossed the line of forcing jokes onto the reader. Instead, he attempts to shine a glaringly bright light on uncomfortable situations and that is the source of the book’s strongest humor.

Favorite quote:

“And I wanted to ask her if she only took me around so that Dad would pay for her but I already knew the answer: Mom took me around because she needed me. Because going through a hard life with someone else is better than going through an easy life alone.” (59)

“Lies are for adults who are sad in their lives.”

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this book to most people. However, I would recommend the first part to everyone. The rest of the book is alright, funny at times, but no where near the brilliance of the first part. However, if you enjoy Jesse Eisenberg’s humor at all? Read it. He definitely owns his socially awkward, anxiety-ridden intellectual sarcasm. This book will win no awards, but if you sometimes empathize with Jesse Eisenberg and see the world as an imperfect, contradictory, yet possibly hopeful place, consider this book.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-28 002

Leave a Reply

