Scrapbooking

Project Life: Part 2 – Establishing a Routine

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 026
Notice something?

I’ve been scrambling to finish my 2015 Project Life album and I realized that I won’t finish in time to post it when I want to. So, I decided to post my Project Life Rountine instead. Before I get into it, I want to say that, for some of the steps I take, there are easier but costlier ways to get it done. My routine represents me using the tools I have at hand and also opting for the most economical route. Either way, I hope this helps you wrap your head around my Project Life process. Feel free to check out my Project Life: Part 1 – Getting Hooked and Buying the Basics post!

Step#1: Upload photos into computer

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 015My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 017My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 018

Tools

  • Asus laptop running Windows 10
  • Phone and USB cable
  • Camera and SD card
  • Photo Gallery App

Method

Whenever I’m ready to do my Project Life work, I immediately import my photos into my laptop through the Photo Gallery app. What I like about the app is that it helps me organize photos into categories and into their own category folder. They do the work of separating photos into categories based on their date/time. You can set how big or small the time frame each category can capture. All I need to do then is name the folder. Brilliant. I use a USB cable to get photos out of my phone and an SD card to get them out of my camera.

Step#2: Pick out photos you like

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 019

Tools

  • A folder (virtual)

Method

This part is the necessary part for culling my large stockpile of photos. I cast a pretty wide net for photos I like because that will give me more flexibility when choosing photos that ultimately end up in my album.

Step#3.1: Choose layout & photos

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 011

Tools

  • Project Life 12×12 Photo Page Protectors

Method

This is probably the most time consuming part, but if you narrowed down your stockpile of photos well enough, it should be easier. Here, you’re limited by the layouts of the page protectors you habe. I have almost all of them, so I have more choices.

The way I choose photos is pretty intuitive: if my favorite photos are horizontal, I’ll choose the page protectors with the most horizontal (or any horizontal) 4×6’s. The same goes with vertical photos. It takes some maneuvering and some sacrifice since I can’t fit everything, but the end result is worth it. I usually leave 1-2 open spots per page for Project Life cards. Some may leave more, but I found I already have too many photos I want to put in.

Step#3.2: Separate photos into 3X4 & 4X6 folders

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 020

Tools

  • 2 folders (3×4 & 4×6)

Method

As many are aware, 3×4 isn’t a normal size for printing photos. In order for me to print 3×4’s at my go-to print shops, Snapfish.com or Costco Printing, I need to put two 3×4’s together to make a 4×6. First, however, I need to separate the 3×4’s from the 4×6’s.

Step#4: Combine two 3X4’S into one 4X6

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 021My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 022My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 023

Tools

  • PicMonkey
  • Adobe Photoshop (advanced users)

Method

PicMonkey is a great free way to combine the photos and you can even edit your photos there if you please. The way to do it is:

  1. Upload 3×4’s
  2. Choose their 3-photo collage option and erase one section so you’re left with two
  3. Take away the border by making the ‘Spacing’ 0.
  4. Change the image to 1800X1200 pixels (4×6).
  5. Put in photos and save!

(If my explanation wasn’t enough, here’s a more detailed one.)

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 024

Adobe Photoshop is another great tool, but not cheap. Since I happened to have it, I took advantage of it! I’m not going to explain how to make the template because it would take too long (hint: you need to use shapes/rectangle tool). But I’ve found some cool resources for you: thescrapmaster, the-lilypad

Step#5: Print!

Tools

Method

This is perhaps the easiest part. Just take all the photos you’ve zealously prepared and print! I like Snapfish because it’s cheap and decent quality. I only use Costco if my family is already printing photos and I might as well. Even then, I still print the bulk of them through Snapfish.

Step#6: Cut out 3X4’S from 4X6’S

Tools

Method

Cut down the middle. Slowly lose mind.

Step#7: Round corners of photos

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 006
1. Uncut 3×4 photo with the EK Tools 1/2″ Mini Corner Rounder.
My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 007
2. Cut photos one at a time.
My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 008
3. Photo after rounding corners. Look awesome, right?
My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 009
4. 3×4 photo next to 3×4 Project Life card.
My Precious Krafts 2016-01-30 010
5. 3×4 photo under 3×4 Project Life card.

Tools

Method

Cut corners (NOT!). Continue losing mind. (Except this is very fun and oddly satisfying!)

Step#8: Place photos and Project Life cards in!

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 033

Tools

Methods

Complete the puzzle! This is by far the most enjoyable part (even when it drives you mad) because you get to see everything come together to make something beautiful! Have fun recording your life everyone!

2 thoughts on “Project Life: Part 2 – Establishing a Routine

Leave a Reply

