Pen and Paper

Studio Oh! Deconstructed Journal Review

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 011

I first discovered this brand through Baron Schwartz’s Blog and I was immediately intrigued. The design was very adorable and it looked very aturdy. More importantly, the paper was supposedly fountain pen friendly and the binding allowed for a completely resistance-free lay-flat opening. Since I also loved the phrase on the cover “Everything is going to be ok,” I decided to give in and buy the journal. The Studio Oh! Deconstructed Journal is 6.5″ x 8 5/8″ and contains 192 pages of ivory colored paper that has a stained look to it. All the notebooks come with 8mm ruled pages. The cover is a sturdy and thick cardboard cover and it features an open-stitched binding that allows the journal to open completely flat. A huge plus if you hate books that don’t stay open. I was worried the binding would break easily because it was exposed, but it feels really sturdy. I still wouldn’t toss it around, but I feel confident it will survive the years.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 011 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 012 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 013 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 014 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 015 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 016 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 017 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 018

The paper is quite enjoyable and fountain pen-friendly, though it won’t survive the super wet 6.0mm Pilot Parallel without some feathering and bleedthrough. It can handle all of my pens(F/M) and ink combos without any problems (feathering, bleeding, and show-through). The paper is also wonderfully smooth and “soft”–it offers feedback without giving up its smoothness. For some odd reason, this helps me have neater handwriting. I think the feedback helps give me better control.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 021
Ink Testing: FRONT
My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 022
Ink Testing: BACK

Pros:

  • Unique design
  • Lay flat binding
  • “Soft” fountain pen-friendly paper

Cons:

  • Heavy
  • Not completely bleedthrough resistant
  • Binding could lose durability over time

Overall, I give the notebook an 8/10. The design is very unique and the lay-flat binding and fountain pen-friendly paper make it a joy to write in. The caveats are the weight (because of the heavy cover) and the paper won’t handle really broad nibs without minor bleedthrough, but neither are huge issues for me. If you’re in the market for a new journal, I will not hesitate to recommend this journal.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 038 My Precious Krafts 2016-01-11 039

 

Leave a Reply

