Pen and Paper

2016 Planner Setup – Shinola 12-Month Runwell Planner Overview

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 001 EDITMPK 01052016

As I mentioned in my 2016 Daily Carry post, my daily planner for 2016 will be the Shinola 2016 Runwell Planner (12 month edition). I chose this planner after a lot of research and comparison with other planners. I really wanted a two-page monthly spread and this planner had a rather spacious one. I decided I wanted a weekly spread because I found that I had a lot of unused space in my Moleskine Daily Pocket Planner. This one has a major design quirk that I realized a little too late, but I will go into that later. The main reason I chose this planner over others was because of its ample notes pages. There is a 2-page monthly notes page and an additional 17 pages in the back. Just perfect for my needs. Add on a standard backpocket for some panner tools and you have a very nice almost A5-size planner.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 002 EDIT
Birthday Calendar

I appreciate that it has a birthday calendar because birthdays are the main dates I transfer over anyways.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 003 EDIT
Yearly Overview

 

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 004 EDIT
Monthly Spread

I will use the space primarily for forward planning–appointments, major tasks, birthdays, and major events.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 005
Weekly Spread

Here I will take bullet point notes about what was done on each day. I will write tasks here also, including blog post topics and smaller tasks. I use my multicolor ballpoint pen to section off/code the tasks. Purple is for tutoring, pink is for things done with family and friends, green is for personal things, and blue is for formal work/job hunting tasks.

Now, this planner has a quirk in that the layout is entirely dependent on what day of the week the month starts with. Instead of a Sunday or Monday start, the week starts with Friday because January 1st was on a Friday. And the rest of the month follows this layout. There are only 3 months this year that start with Monday or Sunday-February, August, and May. I will need to deal with the strange layout for every other month of the year. I think Shinola should have mentioned this design quirk in their description. Unfortunately, I already wrote in the planner, so I will just deal with it (because I can’t return it). I don’t think it will be a huge problem as long as I stick with the monthly section for forward planning and I keep the bookmark on the current week.

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 006
Monthly Notes

This part will be used for my tutoring payment records for now. We’ll see what else I will add to it.

 

My Precious Krafts 2016-01-07 007
Notes

I will mainly use this section for meeting notes, and any other time I need to take formal notes.

MPK 01072016
Backpocket + Planner tools

Backpocket (inner pocket)

  • Extra washi tape I pulled from any old planner. I will most likely use them to label edges
  • Morning glory adhesive/sticky tabs and extra paper clips for marking pages
  • Triangle for measuring/straight edge
  • Extra post-it notes

Hopefully, this planner will last me for the entire year. The only reason I may give up on it is because of the strangely designed weekly pages. Apparently they changed it from the 2015 design and will be changing it back for 2017. I can’t really recommend it until they do. My dream planner is the Hobonichi Cousin in English. If it comes around, I’ll change my planner. If not, I will either stick with Shinola or get a Passion Planner.

MPK 01072016 (9)

MPK 01072016 (10)

MPK 01072016 (11)

2 thoughts on “2016 Planner Setup – Shinola 12-Month Runwell Planner Overview

Leave a Reply

