About me

Halloween 2015 – Soothsayer from Doctor Who

Soothsayer/Sibylline Sisterhood - Doctor Who S04E03 The Fires of Pompeii
Soothsayer/Sibylline Sisterhood – Doctor Who S04E03 The Fires of Pompeii

When I was deciding on my Halloween costume, I knew I wanted to be dramatic. I also wanted to wear red. At first, I thought of cosplaying as Melisandre from Game of Thrones, but I decided to choose something even more niche and dramatic. Thus, my Soothsayer costume was born.

This isn’t a perfect cosplay of the Soothsayer outfit. In the show, she wears a long-sleeved red dress with some thin scarf/headdress. I opted for a red cloak and a red dress that I already owned. I’m not made of money and there’s no way I could’ve found or made a long dress last minute. Besides, cloaks are just so cool and much more reusable.

Instead of hunting down a red cloak days before Halloween, I decided to make one from scratch. I bought almost 5 yards of shiny velvet-like polyester fabric from Joann’s and hand-sewed the cloak together using Fleece Fun’s Long Hooded Cloak Pattern. This site was wonderful and such a big help! This was the first time I ever sewed such a big project and, to make it worse, I had no sewing machine. Turns out, sewing wasn’t the worst thing as long as I had a pattern. I back-stitched most of the cloak together and only at some lazy moments did I opt for a running stitch. I’m glad I decided to sew this myself because I am much more confidant in my sewing abilities now. Who needs a tailor anyways?

I hope everyone had the best Halloween! Halloween is my favorite holiday because of all the theatrics and I will definitely raise the bar for next year.

Leave a Reply

