Scrapbooking

Project Life: Part 1 – Getting Hooked and Buying the Basics

Project Life Logo
Project Life Logo

When I get hooked onto an idea, it’s very hard for me to shake it (and to keep my wallet closed). I recently came across the idea of Project Life, a scrapbooking system created by popular scrapbooker Becky Higgins that utilizes beautifully designed 3×4 and 4×6 cards, 12×12 page protectors, and a 12×12 3-ring binder. I’m a complete memorabilia hoarder and I’ve always wanted to scrapbook them away, but traditional scrapbooking can be so daunting because you’re starting on a blank palette. Once I found this viable solution to all the photos I have sitting in boxes or collecting megabyte dust on my computer, I was sold.

Truthfully, I went a little overboard.

It was an unfortunate coincidence that Becky Higgin’s Project Life shop was retiring some products just as I was shopping for the basics. This meant fantastic deals and a suffering bank account. For a total of $78.38, I got two 12×12 Binders, two Core Kits, two sets of page protectors, and three smaller kits.

My favorite!
Project Life Azure Edition: Binder and Core Kit
These colors feel very spring/summery to me.
Project Life Jade Edition: Binder and Core Kit
The Tools and the Extras
(top) Project Life Photo Pockets: Big Variety #1 and #2 (bottom) Project Life DIY Value Kit and Project Life Winter and Love Themed Mini Kits

Now, “the basics” are really just one 12×12 binder, one Core Kit with 616 cards, and one set of 60 page protectors. According to every YouTuber and blogger I’ve come across, that’s more than enough to get you started. I will probably end up with too much, but hopefully that means I’ll be set for the foreseeable future. Fingers crossed!

One thought on “Project Life: Part 1 – Getting Hooked and Buying the Basics

Leave a Reply

